Accreditation Process

The National Committee on Accreditation (“NCA”) is a standing committee of the Federation of Law Societies of Canada (“FLSC”). The mandate of the NCA is to help Canada’s law societies protect the public interest by assessing the legal education and professional experience of individuals who obtained their credentials outside of Canada or in a Canadian civil law program. An assessment is done before an individual may apply for admission to a law society in a Canadian common law jurisdiction, and is based on the academic and professional profile of each applicant.

Each application is assessed on an individual basis, taking into account the specific elements of each applicant’s educational and professional background, as stated in NCA Policies. The NCA applies a uniform standard on a national basis so that applicants with common law qualifications obtained outside of Canada do not need to satisfy different entrance standards to practise law in the different common law provinces and territories of Canada.

The NCA Assessment Process

The FLSC flow chart below illustrates the five step process involved in each NCA assessment:

1)  You submit your online application (click here) with required documentation and payment;
2)  Once your file is complete, the NCA reviews and assesses your credentials;
3)  The NCA notifies you of assignments or deficiencies;
4)  You complete your assigned requirements; and
5)  The NCA issues a Certificate of Qualification – which is required to apply to a Canadian law society in a common law jurisdiction.

To find out more about the NCA assessment process, click here.

NCA and Canadian Law Schools:

While meeting Step 4 assigned requirements to the NCA process, if any recognition is given for a NCA candidate’s degree, there are currently 4 law schools in Canada that allow NCA candidates to complete all or a portion of their assigned NCA exams content: either on an individual exam course basis or as a postgraduate degree, or even providing preparation courses so NCA candidates can take the said exams.

Each Canadian law school has different program admission requirements. Below is a list of Canadian law schools which assists NCA candidates in getting through the NCA accreditation and licensing process. Click on them to find out more:



British Columbia