Canadian Law Schools

Canadian law schools are all public institutions and consist of a mix of Canada’s two systems of law “Common law” (from the British legal system) and “Civil Law” (inspired from French law) training, with some law schools teaching exclusively in either English or French, and some law schools providing the option of partial or fully bilingual teaching.

There are currently 23 law schools in Canada that offer Juris Doctor (J.D.), Bachelor of Laws (LL.B), Bachelor of Civil Law (B.C.L.), Licentiate of Laws (LL.L), graduate degrees in law, and various joint programs.

The following is an updated list of law schools in Canada separated based on whether they teach Common or Civil Law, and by province/territory:

Common Law


British Columbia


New Brunswick

Nova Scotia




* New Common Law Programs (2012-2014), for more information on each approval stage, please follow this link.

Civil Law



Connect With Us!